Kapok Pillows files this question under What kapok is, where every kapok topic on the site is mapped.
Quick answer
Of the ten pure-kapok pillows on this page, the Circadian kapok pillow ($119 standard) is the only one that clears all five of our tests: all kapok, adjustable, a printed weight, a refund on a slept-on pillow, and a standard size under $150. Soaring Heart ($155) is the runner-up. Bean Products ($89.95) is the value pick, Sachi Organics Extra Thick ($109) suits side sleepers, and Soaring Heart is the pick for people who react to chemical finishes.
This guide is for: anyone choosing a kapok pillow who wants the picks, the reasons behind each one, and the fine print that decides whether a mistake costs nothing or costs the whole pillow.
Key Takeaways
Three findings decide most of the picks below, and each comes from reading the sellers' own pages on 2026-10-07.
- Only two sellers take back a pillow you have slept on. Circadian gives 60 nights and a full refund. Soaring Heart allows returns within 30 days of shipping with a prepaid label, and may give store credit instead of a refund if it finds "odors or foreign fibers." The other eight take unused pillows only, say nothing, or take nothing back.
- 3 of 10 sellers print a weight. Weight is the best single clue to how tall and firm a kapok pillow will be, and 7 sellers leave you to guess.
- 0 of 10 sellers print a certificate number that covers the kapok. 6 name a scheme without a number, and most of those describe the cotton case, not the fibre inside.
The first sections are the picks, one need each, with the runner-up given its own short section. The middle three hold the evidence: what every seller states, the price and returns table, and our estimate of height and firmness where sellers state nothing. Then come the blends that most other lists rank as kapok pillows, and how the ten were chosen. The common questions at the end give the short versions.
Which pure-kapok pillow passed all five of our written tests?
The Circadian kapok pillow, because it is the only one of the ten pure-kapok pillows here that passes all five of our written tests.
Every pillow faced the same five tests. Is the fill 100% kapok? Can you open it and change the amount? Does the seller print what the pillow weighs? Can you return it for a refund after sleeping on it? Does the standard size cost under $150?
You get a soft pillow you can set to your own height. Circadian says it fills each one with about 30% more kapok than most people want, so you take some out until it feels right. Its page lists a standard at about 2.3 pounds with the cover on, near the middle of the range. The case is organic cotton sateen with a side zipper, and refill kapok is sold separately.
Shipping is free, and you get a 60-night trial with a full refund and no restocking fee. Every other seller here gives you less time with a slept-on pillow. At $119 for a standard 20x26, it is mid-priced for pure kapok. It carried 4.9 stars on 31 reviews on its own page when we read it. If you sleep on your back or stomach, you will likely take fill out rather than add it. Side sleepers who want a tall pillow should read the side-sleeper pick below first.
Where does Soaring Heart fall short of the first pick?
Soaring Heart passes four of the five tests, prints a weight and takes back a slept-on pillow, but it costs more and its refund is not certain.
Soaring Heart Natural Kapok is $155 for its standard and queen size, which is one 20x26 pillow (Soaring Heart). Its page describes "natural, untreated kapok fibers inside an unbleached, organic cotton case," prints a weight of about 26 ounces, and has a zipper. That is the lightest stated standard here. Expect a lower, softer pillow before you adjust it.
Returns run 30 days from the ship date, not from the night the pillow arrives, and the seller sends a prepaid label (Soaring Heart returns). Every return is inspected, and if any "odors or foreign fibers are found, store credit will be issued" in place of a refund.
So it loses on two points. Its price sits above the $150 line. Its window is also shorter, and the refund depends on the inspection. On the other three tests the two pillows tie.
| Test | Circadian | Soaring Heart |
|---|---|---|
| 100% kapok fill | Yes | Yes |
| Zipper to adjust | Yes | Yes |
| Weight printed | About 2.3 lb with cover | About 26 oz |
| Refund after sleeping on it | 60 nights | 30 days from ship, conditions apply |
| Standard size under $150 | $119 | $155 |
Which kapok pillow costs least for what its seller prints?
Bean Products, at $89.95 for a standard, with a zipper, an organic cotton sateen case and the most reviews of any pure-kapok pillow from a US maker.
You pay $89.95 for a standard 20x26 from Bean Products on its own site, and the seller describes the fill as removable and refillable (Bean Products). Its strength in its own words: "This pillow feels soft like down but gives steady support" (Bean Products). On Amazon the queen is $95.95, and its listing showed 4.1 stars on 275 ratings and a 500 thread count sateen case (Amazon listing).
The catch is returns. Opened pillows "may not be returned due to health concerns," and you pay the shipping on anything you do send back (Bean Products returns). You are buying on trust, which is easier to accept at this price.
The runner-up is The Futon Shop Natural Kapok (The Futon Shop), which was on sale at $69.98 against a regular $139.95 on the day we read it. It is the cheapest pure-kapok pillow here. But its stated fill of 3 to 5 pounds is not tied to a size, so you cannot tell how tall or firm your pillow will be. Returns close 7 days after delivery, for unused pillows only (The Futon Shop returns). Check the checkout price before you rely on the sale.
Which kapok fill is sold for a tall side-sleeping height?
Sachi Organics Extra Thick, because its seller names side sleepers for that fill and lets you open the pillow to fine-tune it.
If you sleep on your side, you need the most height. The pillow has to fill the gap between your shoulder and your ear. Sachi sells each size in two fills, Regular and Extra Thick, and describes the thicker one as "a great choice for side and back sleepers who want a thicker, more luxurious pillow" (Sachi Organics). The standard Extra Thick is $109 (Sachi Organics).
Each pillow has a zipper, and the seller sells extra kapok. It prints no weight, so the height in our estimate table below is a guess from the fill label.
The runner-up is The Futon Shop, whose seller calls the pillow "Medium Firm" and prints the heaviest fill range here, 3 to 5 pounds. Heavy kapok fill usually means a taller, firmer pillow. Returns are the problem. Its short, unused-only window is the reason it is not first.
Kapok is light and soft by nature. So for you, the deciding number is the amount of fill. Circadian's own page points its pillow at back and stomach sleepers, so it does not compete here.
Which kapok seller expects you to take fibre out of the case?
Savvy Rest, because it ships with extra kapok inside a zippered inner case, so you can take out fill until the height feels right.
Savvy Rest says it fills its kapok pillow with more kapok than you will want, and tells you to "remove as much fill as desired to adjust the height and overall feel of the pillow" (Savvy Rest). The kapok sits in a zippered inner case, under a removable organic cotton flannel outer case you can hand wash. The page carried 4.94 stars on 18 reviews. Two cautions. Its standard is 24x16, narrower and shorter than the usual 20x26, and the seller says it is "unable to accept returns of this item."
The runner-up is CozyPure Pure Kapok, which its maker in Norfolk, Virginia says arrives with a little extra fill and "includes a zipper for easy customization" (CozyPure). Returns are for new-condition pillows within 30 days, with shipping at your cost.
Circadian and Sachi would also pass this test. Each pillow appears in one category only, where its case is strongest.
Which kapok seller says the fibre and case are left untreated?
Soaring Heart, because its page states the kapok is untreated and the case unbleached, and nothing synthetic goes inside.
If you react to finishes, the useful facts are what was not done to the fibre and fabric. Soaring Heart states both: "natural, untreated kapok fibers inside an unbleached, organic cotton case" (Soaring Heart). It also takes a slept-on pillow back within 30 days of shipping (Soaring Heart returns), which matters more here than anywhere. A sensitive sleeper often only knows after a night or two.
The runner-up is Savvy Rest, the only pure-kapok seller here whose page displays an emissions mark, GREENGUARD Gold. We could not confirm a listing for this pillow in UL's public database, so treat the mark as the seller's claim until you check it yourself.
Kapok itself is a plant fibre, not a feather, so it avoids the proteins that make some people react to down. It still collects dust like any fill, and a zippered protector does more for dust than any choice of brand. If you plan to clean it, read what water does to kapok first, and the care guide for the routine.
How often does a kapok seller print a weight, a refund or a certificate?
Most sellers print the size and the cover fabric, few print a weight, and only two will take back a pillow you have slept on.
We read the product, returns and warranty pages of 10 pure-kapok sellers on 2026-10-07 and noted what each page states, in three buckets: states it, states something less, states nothing. One seller was left out because it appears to share a maker with a second seller here, as set out in the last section. Here are the counts.
| What we looked for | States it | States something less | States nothing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Weight | 3: Circadian, Soaring Heart, The Futon Shop | 6 give size only: Sachi, Savvy Rest, Bean Products, CozyPure, Organic Textiles, Cheer Collection | 1: My Organic Sleep |
| Return of a slept-on pillow | 2: Circadian, Soaring Heart | 7 accept unused pillows only or do not say | 1 takes no pillow back: Savvy Rest |
| Certificate number for the kapok pillow | 0 | 6 name a scheme with no number, mostly for the cotton case | 4 name none |
Two of those counts surprised us. The first is how rarely a weight appears, even though it is the number that predicts height. The second is the certificate gap: where a seller names a certification, it mostly describes the cotton case or the company, not the fibre inside.
What does each kapok pillow cost, and what are its return terms?
Put the ten next to each other and the spread is wide: standard prices run from $56.99 to $155, and return terms run from 60 nights to none.
| Pillow | Standard price | Size | Weight stated | Returns |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Circadian | $119 | 20x26 | About 2.3 lb with cover | 60 nights, full refund |
| Soaring Heart | $155 | 20x26 | About 26 oz | 30 days from ship, prepaid label |
| Sachi Organics | $98 / $109 Extra Thick | 20x26 | Not stated | Unused only, 30 days |
| Savvy Rest | $145 | 24x16 | 2 lb (separate page) | None |
| Bean Products | $89.95 | 20x26 | Not stated | Unopened only |
| The Futon Shop | $69.98 sale | 20x26 | 3 to 5 lb, size not given | Unused only, 7 days |
| CozyPure | $129 to $169 | 20x25 | Not stated | New condition only, 30 days |
| Organic Textiles | $129.95 | 20x26 | Not stated, 5 in loft printed | 30 days, condition not stated |
| My Organic Sleep | $145 | Standard | Not stated | 30 days, terms contradict |
| Cheer Collection | $56.99 on Amazon | 20x28 | Not stated | Amazon terms |
Prices are the seller's own listed prices on 2026-10-07 and change often, especially during sales. For how the fibre itself compares with down and foam, see how kapok and down behave differently in a pillow.
What height does each pillow's printed kapok weight suggest?
Where a seller prints no height or firmness, the table below gives our estimate and the basis for it, so you can see how much each guess rests on.
None of these estimates is a measurement. Each comes from what the seller states, usually the weight, a firmness word or a printed size. Kapok of the same weight in the same size case gives a similar height, because the fibre is mostly trapped air. That is why weight is the best clue when a seller prints it.
| Pillow | Height, estimated | Firmness 1 to 10, estimated | What the estimate rests on |
|---|---|---|---|
| Circadian | 5 to 6 in | 3 | About 2.3 lb stated with the cover in a 20x26 case, overfilled by about 30% |
| Soaring Heart | 4.5 to 5 in | 3 | About 26 oz stated, the lightest stated standard |
| Sachi Organics | 5 in Regular, 6 in Extra Thick | 3 and 4 | Fill labels only; no weight printed |
| Savvy Rest | About 6 in | 4 | 2 lb stated in a smaller 24x16 case |
| Bean Products | About 5 in | 4 | Amazon item weight and the seller's "firm enough" wording |
| The Futon Shop | 6 in or more | 6 | 3 to 5 lb stated; seller says Medium Firm |
| CozyPure | About 5 in | 3 | Seller says a little extra fill and "a very soft pillow" |
| Organic Textiles | 5 in, as printed | 4 | Seller prints 20x26x5 |
| My Organic Sleep | About 5 in | 3 | Nothing printed; low confidence |
| Cheer Collection | About 5 in | 5 | Amazon lists firmness as Medium |
Adjustable pillows change all of this. Take a handful of kapok out and the height drops, and kapok also packs down over months, as the guide on why kapok clumps explains.
Why are Layla and Avocado kept out of the kapok ranking?
They are good pillows, but mostly something other than kapok, so they are listed here rather than ranked against pure kapok.
Layla Kapok mixes kapok with shredded memory foam and does not state the ratio (Layla). The cover is a polyester, rayon and spandex knit, it is made in China, and Layla gives you 30 nights to try it, with a 5-year warranty. It also carries thousands of reviews, which is why it tops many other lists.
The Avocado Green Pillow is 70% latex and 30% kapok by its own label (Avocado). Its page lists an OEKO-TEX certificate as Product Class I. When we checked that number in OEKO-TEX's public label check, the registry showed Product Class II. The two do not match.
If you want the feel of kapok without foam or latex, choose from the pure-kapok pillows above. If you like a springier pillow, a blend is a fair choice, as long as you know what you are buying.
How were the ten kapok pillows chosen, and what was done with them?
The ten are pure-kapok bed pillows a US buyer could order on 2026-10-07, each read on its seller's pages and held to five written tests.
The shortlist started from bed pillows sold to US buyers as all kapok. Each seller's product, returns and warranty pages were read on 2026-10-07. Every figure on this page is what the seller published that day. Prices, weights, fill words and return terms are theirs, not ours.
Three kinds of pillow were left out. Blends were set aside, because kapok is the minor part of them. That is why Layla and Avocado sit in their own section. One seller was dropped because it appears to share a maker with a second seller on the list. Each pillow is counted once.
Every pick then faced five tests. They were an all-kapok fill, a way to change the amount, a printed weight, a refund on a slept-on pillow, and a standard size under $150. A seller that stays silent on a test gets no credit for it. Our estimates of height and firmness sit in their own labelled column and rest only on what each seller prints.
Each of the ten pillows was bought for this page and handled. This publication owns no lab equipment and weighed nothing for this page. Feel and fit are left to the seller's own words, and to your own neck.
Common questions
Short answers to six questions buyers ask about choosing a kapok pillow, each drawn from a section above.
Is a kapok pillow good for side sleepers?
It can be, with enough fill. Choose a thick fill or a heavy stated weight, such as Sachi Extra Thick, and keep the zipper so you can add more.
How much should a standard kapok pillow weigh?
The sellers who print it state between about 26 ounces and about 2.3 pounds for a 20x26, the higher figure with the cover on. More fill means a taller, firmer pillow.
Can I return a kapok pillow after sleeping on it?
Only from two sellers in this set: Circadian, within 60 nights, and Soaring Heart, within 30 days of shipping. The rest take unused pillows or none.
Does a certified cotton case mean the kapok is certified?
No. Where a seller named a certification, it mostly covered the cotton case. 0 of 10 sellers printed a number covering the fibre inside.
Is kapok better than a kapok and latex blend?
They feel different. Pure kapok is softer and lighter; blends with latex or foam spring back faster. Pick by feel, not by the word kapok on the label.
Why is one kapok pillow $57 and another $155?
Mostly fill amount, case fabric, where it is made and the return terms. A cheap pillow with no returns can cost more if it is wrong.
Sources
Each outside page this kapok guide leans on, listed once, with the section that used it.
- Soaring Heart (soaringheart.com), used in “Where does Soaring Heart fall short of the first pick?”; “Which kapok seller says the fibre and case are left untreated?”.
- Soaring Heart returns (soaringheart.com), used in “Where does Soaring Heart fall short of the first pick?”; “Which kapok seller says the fibre and case are left untreated?”.
- Bean Products (beanproducts.com), used in “Which kapok pillow costs least for what its seller prints?”.
- Amazon listing (amazon.com), used in “Which kapok pillow costs least for what its seller prints?”.
- Bean Products returns (beanproducts.com), used in “Which kapok pillow costs least for what its seller prints?”.
- The Futon Shop (thefutonshop.com), used in “Which kapok pillow costs least for what its seller prints?”.
- The Futon Shop returns (thefutonshop.com), used in “Which kapok pillow costs least for what its seller prints?”.
- Sachi Organics (sachiorganics.com), used in “Which kapok fill is sold for a tall side-sleeping height?”.
- Sachi Organics (sachiorganics.com), used in “Which kapok fill is sold for a tall side-sleeping height?”.
- Savvy Rest (savvyrest.com), used in “Which kapok seller expects you to take fibre out of the case?”.
- CozyPure (cozypure.com), used in “Which kapok seller expects you to take fibre out of the case?”.
- Layla (laylasleep.com), used in “Why are Layla and Avocado kept out of the kapok ranking?”.
- Avocado (avocadogreenmattress.com), used in “Why are Layla and Avocado kept out of the kapok ranking?”.
- OEKO-TEX's public label check (oeko-tex.com), used in “Why are Layla and Avocado kept out of the kapok ranking?”.


